Our Biases

Our Biases

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Three Days Korean Drama Review (Episode 1) w/ Screencaps


Hey!! So, I (Beverly) will be talking about the Korean drama "Three Days' starring Park Yoochun, Park Ha Sun, and more. I only started this drama yesterday, so I'm pretty late. I just finished episode 5, and I felt like writing how the drama has been so far.
Here's a (crappy) short summary of the plot that I devised straight off my head: Han Tae Kyung (Yoochun) is a secret service agent whose duty is to protect the life of South Korea's President Lee Dong Hwi. The president decides to take a vacation at a private villa, and the secret service accompanies him. There is a massive blackout and three gunshots can be heard. They find the two bodies of guards but the President's body is missing. Okay, so basically Tae Kyung is suspected of the assassination (attempt) and has to find the President to clear his name. And they say he has to find the President in three days, but I think the drama lasts like nine days or something.
My summary is obviously horrible, but let's move on with other matters. Yoochun (Micky) is the lead actor and I have to say, I am pretty impressed with his acting. I saw him in Rooftop Prince, and admittedly, I had no idea he was an idol and thought he was just another thirty-something actor (he has a handsome, mature face, okay). JUST LOOK AT IT. I didn't really enjoy Rooftop Prince that much (too much evil for me and the horrible ending), but Yoochun's acting seemed pretty decent, just not out-of-this-world amazing. 

So, let me just say that I never EVER watch action/adventure/thriller dramas. NEVER. I either get bored by them or it's too bloody for me to stand. I usually stick to the generic romantic-comedy and I'm totally satisfied with them, because who doesn't need a little romance in their lives? Well, anyway, I wasn't planning to watch this at all, but I'm on my spring break and like always, I had nothing to do. Since my mom was watching it and said it was pretty good, I figured I might as well join in. So, here I am. *sings Camp Rock song* Hahaaa, my Disney Channel side took over. Well, now, let me begin my analysis/commentary on episode one.

Episode 1

I didn't expect much when I started, so when I watched the first episode, I was mostly in the "I'll keep on watching to see if it gets better" side. The first episode started off pretty excitingly, with this whole "secretive plan" thing going on. But after it ended, I got a little bored with all the political business. Let me just add that the President looks dang shady. Like Slim Shady level. He has a "secret-agenda" aura and he always looks like he's judging everybody with those arched eyebrows. Ha, well anyway...
Then, with the marketplace situation I got a little teary. And a little mad. Okay,  REALLY mad. I mean, come on, the poor guy's dad just died, give him a break. He didn't even get to say good-bye. And the president only got floured, like seriously calm yo tits secret service it ain't the end of the world. /cries I was about ready to throw my Cheez-its at the screen, but I reminded myself that it was just a Korean drama. Still, the scene with Yoochun crying at the bus stop got to me like those Thai life insurance commercials (link to a really sad one here you will CRY BUCKETS). Then later, he went to the funeral place and Yoon Bo Won (SHE'S SO PRETTY) approached him and went all Sherlock. At that point I already knew I was going to like her. I mean, who doesn't love a girl with short hair who's got her priorities straight. And the funeral scene was really sad because I know it hit close to home for 
Yoochun whose father passed away in 2012. 
Then, there was the Yang Dae Ho stuff, which I found pretty disturbing, like Tae Kyung literally just walked into a stranger's house and found a dying man whoooopie. Later, when they were decoding the note, that's when shit got SERIOUS. I was pretty freaking excited/scared at that moment. "1007 = Assasination" DUN DUN DUNNN. So things started picking up at that moment for me. 

Oh yeah, so the other girl, Lee Cha Young, I think, is not bad. Well, in episode 2, I kind of hated her, but later on she improves a lot. Most of the time, I just wonder why her eyes look so teary all the time. She reminds me a teeeeeeeeeny bit of Kim So Yeon from I Need Romance 3. (I really like that drama so I might post a review soon haha Sung Joon is mine okay). 
Okay, next, that English-speaking guy in the truck. Why is it necessary for every Korean drama (okay, most) to have some random scene where they incorporate English-speaking people. Wait, let me clarify. English-speaking people who can't act for their life. Hopefully, his English somehow ties in with the plot, but I highly doubt it. Oh, and Bo Won is SWAGALICIOUS. She totally rocks that tough police role yet at the same time she is so adorably squishy (don't judge, I like squishy things coughKyungsoocough). 
I think this drama wouldn't be as exciting as it is if there wasn't the cray music going on. Like every semi-action scene has a dundundundundundun violin thing going on and it excites me but at the same time creeps me out. Like, I get it, there's a strange man in a truck, no need to get all Yoyoma on me. Haha, but the music does have an effect on how I feel throughout the drama, so I guess it's successful.

So, all in all, although I had low expectations for this drama, I was pleasantly surprised and quite excited (thanks to suspenseful orchestra music) and looked forward to seeing the plot unfold. Thank you for reading and if you haven't watched this drama, yet, go check it out. I usually watch on Viki. It's not the best quality display, but the timed comments make up for it. Watch here.

4Minute's Whatcha Doin' Today MV Review



Hey its Amber ^^ so this is kinda late but I will still be discussing about 4Minute's comeback, 'Whatcha Doin' Today.' I personally wasn't expecting much since I'm not a huge fan of them but they're still a decent group and all. But seriously, HYUNA. In the beginning, when she was walking out looking all hot and stuff, and all those people on the poles, of course I predicted tell it was going to be a sexy concept. But, I shouldn't be surprised since most of 4Minute's MVs are sexy lol. BUT HER CHANGE DANCE IN THE BEGINNING WAS PRETTY AWESOME. It took me a few seconds to figure out where the dance was from, so when I first watched it I had to replay it like five times haha. Don't judge. When I like something I have the right to replay it as many times as i want ^_^

I'm just really happy Cube Entertainment finally put some effort on giving all the members equal amount of solos and screen time. Like, don't get me started on Volume Up. I love that song, but the video was pretty much Hyuna. At the time, I didn't really like Hyuna since I thought she was overrated and the other members had so much more talent and they needed to be exposed more. But, I started liking her a lot when Troublemaker's Now came out. That song is just amazinggggg I just can't. Ok so back to the actual song I'm reviewing lol.

Very interesting concept. I guess it was pretty sexy but I'm just happy the whole video doesn't consist of them dancing against guys and whatnot. And is it me, but are the background dancers getting too much screentime? I keep seeing the cameras go up the girls' skirts and all so it kind of creeped me out, but you know, Cube can do whatever they want. But seriously. I think Gayoon was the one who slapped one of their butts? I'm pretty sure that was an awkward moment when they were doing takes lol. I would probably love and hate to be that backup dancer ;)

But seriously what why does Jihyun get the least lines/screen time in their vids? She is the leader for God's sake. I was so confused because when I first saw them I assumed Jihyun was the maknae and Hyuna was the leader haha. But for real I never see her enough in any of their vids T.T HER BEAUTY NEEDS TO BE EXPRESSED MORE

I feel they could have been more group dancing in the vid, it consisted too much of solos and background dancers, which I personally don't like that much, I mean it's a group, and they need to dance altogether lol.
Very interesting scene where Jiyoon (i think) is on the toilet dancing with a bunch of dudes in blue suits, and there's a part where the video breaks down and it looks like the guy's face is on her boob. I just thought this part was funny and ridiculous at the same time. It just is totally different then her part in Volume Up where she looked all cold and serious.

All in all, i really enjoyed this song. I liked it a lot more than What's Your Name, for sure. I just didn't like the zombie part; it was just straight up weird for me. Lol so i'm not sure if this is a really good review or not but i will be posting more :) #4minuteisawesome

Monday, July 15, 2013

DESTINY












DESTINY!!!!!


So, it's been a while....more like 5 months....

And recently, I've been obsessing over a certain boy band I like to call INFINITE. So right after I stopped posting here, my mom started to love INFINITE and I was like: psshhh UKISS is better. And then I saw The Chaser, and I became a hardcore Inspirit. And then Man in Love came out and now, DESTINY is coming!

For the last week, Woollim's been releasing a bunch of videos: Destiny Teaser, Destiny MV Making Teaser, and Destiny Album Preview. And SERIOUSLY they're gonna make me die of excitement. The whole thing looks so unique and polished, and I just know that it's going to be amazing. It's coming out in nine hours (12 PM KST) and I literally can't wait.

I LOVE YOU INFINITE!!

The album preview was perfection: every song had it's own vibe and they were all so catchy. And the last song was so beautiful. They should let Dongwoo sing more. He has a beautiful voice and I'd love to hear it more. Speaking of line distribution, Y U NO GIVE SUNGYEOL AND SUNGJONG MORE LINES?!? I really, really, really, REALLY hope that Yeollie and Jong get more lines. If they don't, I understand, but if they do, I'll be crying with happiness.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to Destiny's choreography. The song itself is so different and brilliant, so I would expect the dancing to blow my socks off too. INFINITE is known for their sharp, synchronized moves, and every MV they come out with is accompanied by a dance that is just...beautiful. I'm tingling with excitement for Destiny's dance, because from what I've heard so far, the song is so different from other Kpop songs, from the dramatic piano and drumming to the high falsettos, GOSH it's so amazing. From the parts I've heard, I can tell Destiny is a song that can keep my heart racing from beginning to end. To put it simply, I love it.

So, when the MV comes out, I'm going to be screaming my head off. I just love INFINITE so much. Words can't describe my love and admiration for INFINITE. Although I only became an Inspirit this year, INFINITE has grown on me with their loving personalities and undeniable talent. With Destiny, I hope they will reach the success they deserve. People are saying that Woollim Ent. is crazy for spending all that money on this MV, but I think it's a smart choice. With Man in Love, those who weren't Inspirits before became Inspirits, and now, the whole world is watching for Destiny. If Destiny disappoints as a cheaply-made MV, then this attention will be wasted. That's why Woollim is putting all this time and money into this one MV. If Destiny is a beautifully-made MV, then INFINITE could sky-rocket to fame, which they deserve after years of hard work.

INFINITE HWAITING!

And sorry if some of this didn't make sense. I'm just so overcome by my INFINITE feels :)

Monday, February 4, 2013

My friend, Halle, AKA the Queen of KPOP

Halle and I with Jay Park!
Well, if you saw the last post, you have witnessed the spontaneity and craziness of my friend Halle. It all started about a year ago...The whole seventh grade class was on a field trip to some boring museum and Halle just happened to be in my group. Before all this, I thought Halle was crazy (no offense, Halle). Seriously, the first time you meet her, you'll think she's high. So, that fateful day, I was wearing my teehee band (only TREE 99) and she happened to notice it. So I lent it to her and we started chatting. These days, I see her all the time and we have a whole bunch of unforgettable memories. We went to the Wong Fu screening at around Christmas time. That was AMAZING! We got to meet them and breathe on them and all that...okay, kidding about the last one. (OMG Wes!) And we met Jay Park, who Halle is freaking in love with. Although we waited in line for over an hour in the boiling-hot sun, it was worth it. A few months ago, we went to K-con, the K-pop convention in Irvine. There, we got to see Simon and Martina (Eatyourkimchi, I love you!), David So, JK Films, EXO-M, 4 Minute, VIXX, N-uest, and a lot of other sexy people :D. So, as you see, Halle and I share a special connection with each other. She helps bring out the crazy fan-girl in me, and I do my best to try to tone down her craziness. But she doesn't fail to creep me out sometimes...


HAII GUYS...This is Halle, Beverly's friend...and I like YouTube, Asian dramas, and kpop too!! Quite frankly, I've never really watched British shows AT ALL. I like WongFu above else, but I also watched JubileeProject, the Dreamlapse Project, dancers like Brian Pupous and Andrew Baterina, celebrities like Jay Park (MY ULTIMATE BIAS IN KPOP), other things like JinnyBoyTV and DavidSoComedy who make random comedy videos and skits, singers like Jason Chen(miniachilles) or David Choi or even Paul Kim(PaulKimMusic), makeup gurus(I WATCH IT PURELY FOR FUN) like bubzbeauty, vloggers like Ishibii, and KPOP music videos. Though I don't like British TV shows, I like British YouTubers!! JacksGap are two adorable identical twins named Jack and Finn. YES I CAN TELL THEM APART. I like Finn better because he's more adorable and nice. He's just super handsome in general. Then, there's Caspar Lee(not asian) aka dicasp, who is super odd and funny. He's just a weird person in general. He is roommates with Alfie Days(PointlessBlog) who is quite odd too but more down to earth. There's also MarcusButler who has a signature greeting: HEELLOOO!!!
Now, for Asian dramas. I haven't been watching many but I'm planning to watch Flower Boy Next Door. I've heard it's really good...but I also have to finish King of Dramas. OOH! I also have to watch 7th Grade Civl Servant((with 2PM's Chansung) and Unexpected You(with CNBlue's Minhyuk) I would recommend watching Gentlemen's Dignity and Boys over Flowers(no relations dudes). That's all

I AM THE QUEEN OF KPOP. DO NOT QUESTION ME. But feel free to ask me questions about things. I don't know much about the rumors, just groups. My favorite groups are BIG BANG, B.A.P., BTOB, AJAX,  VIXX, Nu'est, FIESTAR. I think that's it. There are A LOT more groups that I'll start liking, but my bias groups are BIG BANG and B.A.P. My biases are JAY PARK<3, Henry(SUJU M), P.O.(BLOCKB), Park Jaehyung(contestant on first season of KPOPSTAR, currently a trainee at JYP), GD&TOP(BIGBANG but I like Daesung most, these two are just really HOTT), Chansung(2PM), and Lee Hyunwoo(he's an actor). Remember, if you have questions about kpop, I gotcha. KAY BYEE iloveyoutoo 
>.<

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Interests and Obsessions


First Blog Post!

This might be a one time thing, but I just wanted to display my opinions and views on this blog. How to start...Well, I'm just a normal girl. Like any other girl, I have my obsessions and interests. For one, I LOVE Korean pop music. Among my favorites are SHINEE, U-KISS, and SNSD. My biases in those three are Onew, Kevin, and Sooyoung. Now onto the next addiction: British TV shows! The first show I watched was Doctor Who (9th Doctor), and I loved it! After a while I gravitated towards Sherlock, which is so cunning and clever.                                                                            


Next, I'm a big fan of Asian dramas. The first I ever watched was the Taiwanese version of the manga Hana Kimi. Now I'm watching Flower Boy Next Door, which is about midway done and so far amazing. Last but most definitely not least, I can hardly live without Youtube. I'm a loyal subcriber of Nigahiga, Pewdiepie, Smosh, and Wong Fu Productions. In fact, I met WFP at a screening last year and it made my life complete :D. 

Well this concludes my interests and obsessions, so see you later!